Why trying to avoid dairy may be harder than it seems.
Whether you’re lactose intolerant or trying to determine if you might have a dairy allergy, cutting out milk products means saying goodbye to delicious cheeses and creamy yogurt. Unfortunately, just getting rid of the obvious things may not be enough. Here are some foods that you never would have guessed contain dairy.
What to Do When You’re at the Store
Vegan products won’t have dairy in them. Vegetarian products can go either way. Companies are required to list on the box if a product contains dairy, so look under the ingredients list if you’re unsure. Finally, kosher foods labeled “pareve” are always dairy-free and safe for those looking to avoid milk products.